When Should I Buy Organic Produce?

Source: Public Broadcasting Station, http://www.pbs.org

In a perfect world, the bounty at my local’s farmer’s market would be my sole source of produce.  Since I have not yet figured out how to accomplish this, I adhere to the lists below when buying fruits and veggies in the grocery store.  You’ve probably already gathered that the “dirty dozen” list includes fruits and veggies that should be purchased in the organic aisle, while you’re OK to cut corners on the “clean 15.”   Given my ability to lose my marbles when walking through our sensory-overloaded grocery aisles, I keep a copy of these lists in my purse for reference.   As mentioned in PBS’s “The Dirty Dozen and Clean 15 Produce,” the full list from the Environmental Working Group’s website contains 49 types of produce, rated on a scale of least to most pesticide residue.  Head to www.foodnews.org to check out this comprehensive publication.

The Dirty Dozen 

celery

peaches

strawberries

apples

domestic blueberries

nectarines

sweet bell peppers

spinach, kale and collard greens

cherries

potatoes

imported grapes

lettuce

The Clean 15

onions

avocados

sweet corn

pineapples

mango

sweet peas

asparagus

kiwi fruit

cabbage

eggplant

cantaloupe

watermelon

grapefruit

sweet potatoes

sweet onions

Leave a Reply

