Indian Spiced Green Lentils

I chose green lentils as the main ingredient of my entree tonight, as this legume is a low glycemic food with a GI of ~ 22 to 37.  Lentils are also rich in protein, fiber, vitamins, minerals and quite versatile, as well.  While searching for an easy lentil dish, I came across low glycemic food blogger, Kalyn.  Her website, Kalyn’s Kitchen, is full of amazing recipes.  Check out her Indian Spiced Lentil recipe.

NOTE: Here are my slight modifications ~

*I used green lentils.

*1/2 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp curry powder, and 1 tsp gara masala instead of the 1 tsp sweet and1 tsp  hot curry powder that the recipe calls for.

*I stirred in 3 tablespoons of whipping cream at the end of the cooking process.


Leave a Reply

