DIY Pumpkin Puree

I can’t help but think that my great-grandma would get a chuckle out of this subject line.  I’ll have to ask my grandpa if she ever made pumpkin pies.  If she did whip up this fall dessert, I have a sneaking suspicion that she did not use canned pumpkin products.   That being said, it was only recently that it even crossed my mind to use an actual pumpkin to create pumpkin-based recipes.  Upon researching the topic of endocrine disorders, I was overwhelmed with the amount of endocrine disruptors that creep into our day-to-day lives.  One main culprit, BPA found in canned food.

As I set out to make pumpkin scones last week, I was committed to making them the “old-fashioned way.”  Thanks to foodgawker (my latest time-suck), I stumbled across this easy-to-follow pumpkin puree recipe from the food blog, Oh She Glows.  Hope you enjoy integrating this delicious can-free alternative, as you warm your house with fall spices.

Leave a Reply

