Healthy Banana Muffins (with a secret kick)

banana muffinWhen I taught in the classroom, I would remind my students that we often learn more from our mistakes than our victories and here’s another great example of this.  I was making two half-batches of this recipe… half for me and half for my friend who eats a gluten and dairy-free diet.  As I whipped these batters up side-by-side, I was simultaneously chatting on the phone and cleaning up around the kitchen.  This multi-tasking was apparently overly ambitious for my pregnant-brain, as I lost track of which bowl contained the coconut oil and which contained the butter.  (Here’s where I have to admit that I was also cutting corners and not mixing wet ingredients separately before adding to dry – rookie move, I know).  Anyways, I panicked and just dumped the two of them together.

The kick, you ask?  I’m pretty sure my husband has more than the average 2-8,000 taste buds since his gustatory senses are off the charts.  When he took a bite out of one of these bad boys, he immediately commented on how the subtle hint of coconut pairs well with the banana.  Unsurprising, I imagine, since they both carry tropical notes.

For those of you that don’t have to be mindful of your sugar intake, double the amount of brown sugar.  I sure wish I could, but I bake low-sugar or nearly no-sugar items now to combat the impact of insulin resistance on PCOS and bananas are very high in sugar.  Happy noshing…

healthy banana muffins

*preheat 300 degrees

001

ingredients
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup almond flour
5 very ripe bananas
3 eggs
2.5 Tbsp coco oil
2.5 Tbsp butter
2 Tbsp brown sugar
1/4 tsp sea salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 Tbsp vanilla
how to
*In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients. In another bowl, mash the bananas and add the rest of the ingredients; mix well. Stir wet ingredients into the dry ingredients just until moistened. Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups nearly full.
*Bake about 15 to 20 minutes. I tend to like my muffins a little underdone, but if you like your muffins more cake-like, then they will most likely take 20 minutes to bake.
Recommendation for those not watching their sugar intake: add a small drizzle of maple syrup when muffin is still warm and eat your heart out.
healthy banana muffin recipe, low sugar banana muffin recipe, gluten-reduced banana muffin recipe, banana muffin recipe for pcos
004
Leave a Reply

