Italian Chicken Meatballs (gluten-free)

I listen to Dr. Lo Radio Show, hosted by Dr. Lauren Noel, on a weekly basis and am excited about the episode that I just tuned in to: Paleogasm with Camille Macres.   Dr. Noel practices naturopathic medicine and addresses many of her clients’ needs through a paleo-based diet, so it’s no surprise that she wanted to share Camille’s wealth of knowledge regarding healthy cooking with her listeners.  Although Dr. Noel believes eating paleo is one of the healthiest ways to fuel our bodies, she acknowledges that committing to paleo guidelines can feel a bit restrictive at times.  I couldn’t agree with her more and love her honesty on this topic.

Apparently, Camille has come to our rescue through the varied tips and delicious recipes she includes in this cookbook and I’m moments away from putting it to the test, as the PDF version should land in my inbox within a day!  In the meantime, I’ve shared my take on the “paleo” italian/chicken meatball below, which I adapted from a few different recipes that I looked over this afternoon.  As for serving ideas, I heated up some homemade marinara sauce with two of these and ate it as my afternoon snack, but clearly there are endless ways to enjoy these tasty little treats.

Italian Meatballs :: Gluten-free

ingredients
12 ounces organic ground chicken
2 tsp dried oregano
2 tsp dried parsley flakes
1 tsp basil (fresh or dried)
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1.5 tsp salt
1/4 cup finely minced onion (I used red onion)
1 small garlic clove (or 1/2 medium), minced/garlic pressed
1 egg
1/2 cup almond flour
optional: as noted in the ‘how to’ section below, I will add 1 Tbsp of freshly grated Parmesan cheese when I have it on hand.  
how to
Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
Line baking sheet with parchment paper.
Mix all ingredients together into medium-sized bowl.
Form ~ 2″ meatballs.
Bake 20 minutes.
Makes 12 meatballs.
NOTE: After making 6 meatballs, I added about 1/2 Tbsp freshly grated Parmesan cheese to the remaining 1/2 of the mixture.  I have to say that both versions are really tasty, but I think in the future I will add 1 Tbsp of freshly grated Parmesan cheese to the entire mixture. 


italian meatballs, chicken meatballs, italian chicken meatballs, paleo meatballs, paleo chicken meatballs, paleo italian chicken meatballs

Leave a Reply

