Easy Breezy Coconut Macaroons (gluten-free)


Inspired by Detoxinista’s Blonde Macaroons (you really should check out her fantastic blog), I set out to create my own version of these chewy sweets.  Given that I can’t find unsweetened coconut flakes where I live (small town Germany), I knew I would need to tweak the recipe, as I would be using a sweetened substitute instead.  After a few attempts at my own version, I’m quite happy with the results.  I do, however, look forward to giving these goodies a makeover when I’m back in the states in a few months and am able to access an unsweetened coco product.

ingredients

*2 cups sweet shredded coconut

*1 Tbsp coconut oil, melted in microwave for ~ 20 seconds

*1.5 tsp vanilla

*1/4 tsp + pinch salt

*egg white from one large egg or the egg whites of two small eggs

*2 Tbsp Almond Flour

*optional: 1 to 2 Tbsp date paste (I enjoyed that slightly sweeter taste of the batch that had the date paste)

*optional: 1/4 tsp almond extract

how to

*Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

*Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

*Add sweet flaked coconut and coconut oil to food processor and blend for about 5 minutes, scraping sides every couple minutes.

*Add vanilla and salt and pulse 3 to 5 times.

*Add egg white and pulse about for about 10 seconds, scrape sides with spatula, and pulse for another 5 seconds.

*Place this mixture in bowl and stir in almond flour.

*Form tablespoon size dough balls and place on baking sheet.

*Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until slightly golden brown on top.  I kept a close eye the last few minutes since they turned golden brown quickly towards the end.

low sugar coconut macaroons, gluten free coconut macaroons, coconut macaroons, easy breezy coconut macaroons, low sugar treats, low sugar sweets, low sugar cookies, gluten-free cookies, gluten free cookies, healthy baked goods

Leave a Reply

