Southwest Chipotle Salad Dressing


A Southwest Chipotle Salad showed up on Pinterest a few weeks back and I realized it had been years since I had enjoyed the Chicken Tortilla Salad that was served up at the local brew house in my college town.  Immediately, I set out to recreate this old fave with the help of a few recipes I stumbled upon in this ever-so-pressing quest.  I certainly hope you enjoy what I came up with.

Ingredients

P1010607

1/3 cup chopped cilantro

1/3 cup sour cream + 1/3 cup whole milk, plain yogurt (original recipe calls for 2/3 cups sour cream)

1 tsp liquid from canned chipotle peppers + 1/2 tsp chipotle pepper finely minced

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp chili powder

2 tsp freshly squeezed lime juice

1/2 tsp honey

1/4 tsp salt

couple grinds fresh pepper

*Add all ingredients into a jar and whisk together. 

Lettuce & Add-In’s

P1010610

I added the following ingredients:

*romaine lettuce

*tomatoes

*crushed up all-natural, organic blue corn chips

*finely diced red onion

*chopped avocado

*occasionally chicken

*s&p to taste

*optional classic additions: black beans and/or corn

Note: If you watch your glucose levels like I currently do, then I would omit these popular add-in’s. 

southwestern chipotle salad, southwestern chipotle salad dressing, healthy chicken salad, southwestern chicken salad, great salad for diabetic, pcos-friendly eats, food for diabetes, southwest chipotle lime salad dressing, easy homemade salad dressing

Leave a Reply

