Cookathon: Lentil Wraps, Classic Chicken Salad, and Bobby Flay’s Coleslaw

During my “cookathon” yesterday, I made coleslaw, lentil wraps and chicken salad and was excited that I was happy with the outcome of all three dishes!  Thought I’d share in case you’re looking for some solid recipes…

cookathon

Dish 1: Bobby Flay’s Coleslaw with Cumin-Lime Vinaigrette 

Modifications for Dressing

Clearly, Bobby Flay knows what he’s doing, so I’m sure the original recipe is fantastic. 

*Olive Oil: I used 1/4 cup olive oil + ~1 Tbsp olive oil (I like my slaw a on the tangier side).  I figure you can always add more oil if it’s too acidic tasting, but much harder to take it out once it goes in.

*Hot Sauce: I used about 5 dashes of Cholula as my hot sauce.

*Preparation: I also used a garlic pressed to finely mince the garlic so that I could add just all the ingredients into a jar and shake to blend instead of having to use a food processor to process all of it together.

Modifications for Salad

*shredded the carrots and cabbage in a food processor

*used a red onion

*only used 1/2 of a sweet, red bell pepper

Dish 2: Spicy Lentil Wraps with Tahini Sauce

Since living abroad, nostalgia has been just the catalyst I’ve needed to try out new recipes that capture flavors from home.  When I was in need of a healthy lunch-on-the-go during a busy week of teaching, I would often stock up on Trader Joe’s spicy lentil wraps.  While perusing food gawker the other night, I was thrilled to stumble upon a food blogger who figured out how to replicate this recipe.

Modifications

*omitted bulgar

*used less water since the red lentils that I use cook in under 20 minutes

*I only used 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes because I was not in the mood for too much heat.  I’m sure my husband would have preferred the full teaspoon, although I must forewarn that these lentils would have been really spicy had I used the full amount.

*I did not make the red pepper paste.  Instead, I made my Baba Ghanoush and added a roasted red bell pepper to this batch.

Dish 3: Angel’s Chunky Chicken Salad

I really enjoyed the outcome of this classic chicken salad for my final dish yesterday.  I just finished eating this in a lettuce wrap for lunch and did not miss the sandwich bread, as I think the greens add a great fresh and crunchy touch.

Modifications

*Instead of 3 Tbsp of mayonnaise, I used 1 Tbsp mayo + 1 large spoonful of yogurt (organic/plain/whole milk).

*I reserved about 2 teaspoons of the chicken fat after baking the chicken breast and added it back into the salad.

*I added 1/4 teaspoon Dijon mustard.

*I used 6 small cornichons instead of dill pickles since that is what we had on hand.

Happy Cooking & Happy Weekend!

Leave a Reply

